Here’s Why Mohammed Shami Walked Off The Field After Just 7 Overs Into The First Inning


IND vs AUS 1st ODI: India are currently squaring off against Australia in IND vs AUS 1st ODI at Punjab’s Mohali. The three-match ODI series between India and Australia is being considered as the dress rehearsal for upcoming ODI World Cup 2023, which begins from October 5 in Ahmedabad. Senior pacer Mohammed Shami is part of India’s playing XI. He has come in place of Mohammed Siraj, who has been rested for first two ODIs. Shami was bowling well against Australia and even bagged the crucial wicket of Mitchell Marsh in the very first over. A late swinger from Shami took edge of Marsh’s bat and went straight into the hands of Shubman Gill, fielding at slip position. 

Interestingly, Shami left the playing field after just first seven overs into the inning. It is being speculated that the senior pacer got tired and left the field to get a breather before he returns to bowl the remaining overs of his spell. Seems like the hot and humid weather conditions in Mohali, venue of IND vs AUS 1st ODI, is troubling the senior pacer.

At the time this story was filed, Shami had taken two wickets in six overs (1 maiden) for 22 runs.

Shami played just two matches in the Asia Cup 2023. In-form Mohammed Siraj has been bowling remarkably well and with Bumrah making his comeback, Shami has been reduced to the bench. Team India management has made it clear time and again that their focus remains on having batting depth in their lineup. The pitches in India are mostly flat and provides great assistance to the spinners in the middle overs. It is highly likely that India, in most of their matches, will have only one spin specialist spinner and two specialist pacers in their XI as this gives them the option for including five batters and 3 three all-rounders. Even if Shami remains benched during the World Cup, his presence only increases the bowling depth India have.

India playing XI: Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (c & wk), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami


Source link

Leave a Reply