Ganesh Chaturthi 2023: Banks To Remain Closed From September 18 To 20 In Different Regions


Ganesh Chaturthi is one of the most widely celebrated Hindu festivals marking Lord Ganesha’s birth. The festival will commence on September 19. Celebrated nationwide, it honours the deity of wisdom, knowledge, prosperity, and happiness. The festivities end on Anant Chaturdashi, 10 days after the inception of Ganesh Chaturthi.

In accordance with the Reserve Bank of India’s (RBI) holiday schedule for the fiscal year 2023-24, various states and cities are set to observe bank holidays from September 18th to 20th in honour of Ganesh Chaturthi. During this period, banking operations will remain suspended in specified regions.

State-wise List of Bank Holidays 

September 18, 2023 (Monday)- Banking services will remain closed owing to Vinayak Chaturthi in Karnataka and Telangana.

September 19, 2023 (Tuesday)- Banks will be closed in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Orissa, Tamil Nadu, & Goa on the occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi.

September 20, 2023 (Wednesday)- Banking services will continue to remain closed in Orissa, Goa to mark the second day of Ganesh Chaturthi and Nuakhai.

Parts of Karnataka, Dakshina Kannada, and Udupi, will be observing a bank holiday on September 19th (Tuesday) only. Official declarations for the same were issued by DK Deputy Commissioner Mullai Muhilan and Udupi DC K Vidyakumari in separate directives.

Other Bank Holidays in September

As per the holiday schedule provided by the Reserve Bank of India, the month of September consists of additional holidays as well, with variations in dates. On September 22, banks in Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram will observe a holiday on Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day. For Guwahati and Ranchi, the banking services will be closed on September 25, marking the birth anniversary of Srimanta Shankardev. 

On September 27, bank holidays will be observed in Jammu, Kochi, Srinagar, and Thiruvananthapuram owing to Milad-e-Sherif. Furthermore, on the occasion of Eid-e-Milad, dated September 28th, bank closures will be observed in Ahmedabad, Aizawl, Belapur, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kanpur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, and Ranchi. The following day, September 29, banks in Gangtok, Jammu, and Srinagar will remain closed to mark Eid-e-Milad-ul-Nabi.

Pause in Services of Domestic Bourses

On September 19th, both the National Stock Exchange (NSE) and the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) will observe a trading holiday on account of Ganesh Chaturthi. Other segments including equity, equity derivatives, currency derivatives, interest rate derivatives, and securities lending and borrowing (SLB) will remain inactive on this day as well. Multi Commodity Exchange (MCX) will be closed for the morning trading session, which typically operates from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., while it will remain open for the evening session from 5 p.m. to 11:30/11:55 p.m.


Source link

Leave a Reply